March 2018 Update

posted Feb 28, 2018, 12:18 PM by ASHRAE Saskatoon Membership

2017-18 Membership Promotion Chair - Ryan MacGillivray, P. Eng., Member ASHRAE


Our next meeting is Tuesday, March 13, as a Membership Promotion Night, with a presentation on The (un)Ethical Engineer: A Study in Principle and Practice by Devin Abellon from Uponor.  Guests and non-members will get a special meal rate of $10! Hope you can come, and invite your colleagues.


The following people attended our February meeting with Darren Alexander, from TWA Systems, talking on Active Beam installation: Ryan MacGillivray (Daniels Wingerak Engineering Ltd.), Darrell Solie (U of S), Whit Pointon (Arrow Engineering), Trevor Bemis (Victaulic), Ken Coutu (U of S), Murray Guy (Integrated Designs), Mike Gregorash (Grundfos), Scott Fraser (Johnson Controls), Christine Rogers (Cypress Sales), Ahmed Abdel-Salam (Nortek Air Solutions), Jordan Hittel (Spirax Sarco), Stefan Belev (HVAC Solutions), Nader Moazami (Nortek Air Solutions), Blake Erb (HVAC Sales), Evan Ericson (Stantec), Odhner Ong (Arrow Engineering), Kyle Mostat (Trane), Carey Simonson (U of S), Bill Dean (NRC), Arron Andrusiak (HVAC Sales).

I would also to acknowledge the people who attended our January meeting, with Greg Reeves from Arjay Engineering:  Matthew Wingerak (Daniels-Wingerak Engineering Ltd.), Alex Repski (Strong Refrigeration), Christine Rogers (Cypress Sales), Ryan MacGillivray (Daniels Wingerak Engineering Ltd.), Matt Rohachuck (Nu-Trend Industries), Arron Andrusiak (HVAC Sales), Ian Slinger (Axiom Industries), Dale Richards (Sask Poly Student), Nolan Nernberg (Sask Poly Student), Dean Buchholz (City of Saskatoon), Bill Dean (NRC), Reg Hofmann (Air-Tech Management), Ryan Johnson (MacPherson Engineering), Neil Markham (Associated Engineering), Trevor Bemis (Victaulic), Ahmed Abdel-Salam (Nortek Air Solutions), Chris Kehrig (Nu-Trend Industries).


I would like to welcome the following people who have joined ASHRAE Saskatoon since July:

  • Devan Kincart – Student  Upgrade - Daniels-Wingerak Engineering
  • Kyle Mostat – Trane
  • Jayden Rohachuk – Nu-Trend Industries
  • Matt Dunlap - EH Price
  • Ryan Johnson - MacPherson Engineering
  • Jason Lopinski - ENGCOMP
  • Jeremy Gaudet - Stantec

If you know these new members, please invite them to come out to our meetings, and introduce them to everyone else.  If you meet them, please make them feel welcome at our meetings.


To qualify for the grade of Member, you need the equivalent of 12 years of ASHRAE related experience, including schooling and jobs.  If you think you qualify, let me know and we can look into it. 


Copies of the ASHRAE Saskatoon are still available for pick-up at our meeting.  Thanks go to Air-Tech Management, Cypress Sales Partnership, Daniels-Wingerak Engineering Ltd., and Engineered Air for supporting the roster this year.


Please let me know of additional benefits you may be looking for from ASHRAE or ASHRAE Saskatoon.  We are here to serve you, the member.  Thanks and I hope to see you soon.

Ryan MacGillivray, P. Eng. Member ASHRAE

Membership Promotion Chair