Chris Watt

posted Apr 2, 2013, 12:31 PM by ASHRAE Saskatoon
For our March ASHRAE Saskatoon meeting, we had two special guests – ASHRAE President Tom Watson, and our Region XI Director and Regional Chair, Kevin Marple.  Kevin announced to our chapter that Bill Dean will be receiving the ASHRAE Exceptional Service Award, to be presented to Bill during the Plenary Session at the Denver Annual Meeting. Bill is very deserving of this award – congratulations!

The society nominations for the 2013-2014 year have been announced.  Bill Dean has been nominated for Director-At-Large, please see the exerpt from the current ASHRAE Insights: Bill Dean - ASHRAE Insights
Director-at-Large: K. William (Bill) Dean, P.E., facilities manager, National Research Council of Canada, Saskatoon, SK, Canada.

Current Service:  Committee chair, Guideline 1.2, The Commissioning Process for Existing HVAC&R Systems; vice chair, TC2.2, Plant and Animal Environment; member, Conferences and Expositions Committee, Multidisciplinary Task Group for the Cold Climate Design Guide.

What facet of ASHRAE membership do you think offers the greatest value?  ASHRAE’s greatest value to me has been the network of contacts I have developed over my years as an active ASHRAE member.  The volunteer culture fostered over the years is one of cooperation, creativity and technical excellence, which I don’t observe in some other organizations with the diversity that ASRHAE embodies.  ASHARE members have shared their time and experience long before “paying it forward” became a cliché.  I believe ASHRAE’s volunteer culture provides the greatest value.

Additional Society Board nominations include:
President: William P. (Bill) Bahnfleth, University Park, Pa
President-Elect: Thomas H. Phoenix, Greensboro, N.C.
Treasurer: T. David Underwood, Oakville, ON
Vice-President: Daniel C. Pettway, Norfolk, Va
Vice-President: Thomas E. Werkema, Knoxville, Tenn
Vice-President: Darryl Boyce, Ottawa, ON
Vice-President: Bjarne W. Olesen, Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Region IV DRC: M. Ginger Scoggins, Cary, N.C.
Region V DRC: Richard A Zbin, Eastlake, Ohio
Region VI DRC: Mark F. Miller, Oregon, Wis.
Region XII DRC: Jennifer A. Isenbeck, Tampa, Fla.
Region XIII DRC: Edward K.C. Tsui, Hong Kong
Director-at-Large:  K. William (Bill) Dean, Saskatoon, SK
Director-at-Large: Julia A. Keen, Manhattan, Kan.
Director-at-Large: Ben A. Leppard, Tucker, Ga.