Blake Erb

posted Sep 3, 2013, 3:04 PM by ASHRAE Saskatoon   [ updated Sep 5, 2013, 8:31 AM by ASHRAE Saskatoon CTTC ]
As newly elected ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter President, it is an honor to be able to welcome everyone to the 2013-2014 program year.  I would like to thank outgoing Chapter President, Chris Watt, for his leadership during the past year.  Chris has set the bar high, by leading the Chapter through a very successful year.  

I have had the honor to be on the Board of Governors for several years now, experiencing each position and its unique challenges.  I have also been fortunate to have been heavily involved in Technical positions at the ASHRAE Society level, being involved in developing some of today’s best industry standards and guidelines.  As a Research and Design Engineer, my career has always led me to focus on the technical aspects of the HVAC Industry.  However, what I have learned is that there is a lot more to ASHRAE than just the technical side.  The social, political and environmental aspects are equally as important, and it is great to be connected with ASHRAE members from all of these different areas.  

Throughout my term as Chapter President, my goal is to create an exciting environment where all members can experience these multiple facets of ASHRAE.  Our Programs Chair, Mike Nemeth, has been putting together an exciting lineup of programs for this year that will do just that!  These programs will include topics such as building energy codes, leadership and business development skills and rumor has it, a tour of the micro-brewery later in the year, which I am sure will be highly attended!  

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce this year’s Board of Governors.
  • Michael Nemeth, President Elect; Programs Chair
  • Jesse Friggstad, Chapter Treasurer; 
  • Brennan Savoie, Chapter Secretary
  • Jonathan Bushman, Chapter Historian, Awards
  • Chris Watt, Research Promotion
  • Kirk Nagus, Membership Promotion
  • Greg Scrivener, Student Activities, Refrigeration Chair
  • Chris James, Member at Large, Student Activities
  • Ryan MacGillivray, Chapter Technology Transfer Chair
  • Kirk Campbell, Webpage/Newsletter
  • Christine Rogers, YEA (Young Engineers in ASHRAE) Chair
  • Ian Slinger, Member at Large
This highly enthusiastic and dedicated group has been working diligently over the summer to prepare a great year for all of the Chapter Members.  We hope to see everyone out for our first Membership Promotion night on September 10th.  As you will notice, we are also switching up the venue, trying a few new locations this year. The first meeting will be held at the Willows, which for you golfers out there, may be an opportunity to play a quick round before the meeting.  The food and presentation will be well worth the time to attend.  See you all there! 

Blake Erb
ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter President