Meeting Minutes‎ > ‎

2011 04 12

posted Apr 12, 2011, 9:15 AM by ASHRAE Saskatoon   [ updated Sep 13, 2011, 5:48 PM by ASHRAE Saskatoon Secretary ]
Regular Meeting Minutes for ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter 102
  1. Call to Order
    1. Jonathan Bushman called to order the regular meeting of the Saskatoon ASHRAE Chapter at 6:44 pm on April 12th, 2011 at the ParkTown Hotel.
  2. Introductions / Attendance
  3. Reading of minutes from last meeting
    1. Mike Nemeth read the March 7th, 2011 meeting minutes.
    2. Motion to accept the meeting minutes as read. (Chris Watt / Jack Scott).
    3. Passed unanimously.
  4. Reports
    1. Vice-President / Programs – Jeff Frie
      1. April 12th: Dan O’Brian, National Sales Manager, Halton Canada, speaking on Kitchen Ventilation
      2. If there are any program ideas for the coming year speak to Jeff or Chris
    2. Treasurer – Chris Watt
      1. Sign in was changed to the entrance this meeting, it worked well.
      2. Account balances were reported.
    3. Research Promotion – Chris Conley absent
      1. No report
    4. Membership Promotion – Ryan MacGillivray
      1. New members were Christine Rogers, Cypress Sales, and Chris Richards, City of Saskatoon.
      2. Jack Scott has been upgraded to a life member.
    5. Chapter Technology Transfer – Jonathan Bushman (for Blake Erb)
      1. No report.
    6.  History – Jack Scott
      1. Golf tournament is planned for Friday, June 3rd, at the Willows, 11:30 tee-time.
      2. All our hole sponsorship spots have been filled.
    7. Refrigeration – Jonathan Bushman (for Manfred Gerber)
      1. No report.
    8. Student Activites – Mike Nemeth
      1. Summary of year:
        1. Ensured university class could get textbooks
        2. Organized tour and lecture for university students of Cameco Operations Centre with Chris Conley
        3. Awarded university scholarship to Jonathan Wiebe
        4. Sent in the membership application forms for SIAST. They received their books out of consignment inventory.
        5. SIAST scholarship will be awarded when class is finished.
    9. Webpage / Newsletter – Mike Nemeth
      1. Please notify Mike if you are having any issues accessing the newsletter or webpage or if there is something you'd like to post.
      2. Google Analytics was used to monitor website traffic.
        1. 311 unique visits since Feb 27.
        2. Report can be made available.
      3. Over the next year, webpage and newsletter duties will be transfered to Kirk Campbell
  5. Old business
    1. None.
  6. New business
    1. ASHRAE has technology awards on chapter, regional and society levels. VerEco home was awarded the Saskatoon Chapter technology award. Kelly Winder and Ronn Lepage submitted the award.
    2. Board Positions:
      1. Previous nominations:
        1. Jeff Frie was nominated as President.
        2. Chris Watt was nominated as Vice-President / Programs.
        3. Mike Nemeth was nominated for Secretary.
      2. Blake Erb was nominated for Treasurer by Ryan MacGillivray / Jeff Frie. Blake agreed to be nominated.
      3. Motion to cease nominations by Ryan MacGillivray / Kirk Campbell.
        1. Motion passed unanimously.
      4. Positions were awarded by default.
    3. Student Activities and CTTC positions are available.
    4. The CRC for this year is in Portland, Oregon.
      1. We may submit our motions to make changes in ASHRAE.
    5. Free ASHRAE webcast on ground source heat pumps. We are watching it as a group at March Consulting on April 21 at 11 am.
    6. Ryan MacGillivray / Mike Osborn motioned that the reasonable expenses of the CRC attendees be covered by the chapter. Vote was a unanimous yes.
  7. Adjournment
    1. Motion to adjourn by Jack Scott / Chris Watt.  Meeting adjourned at 7:09pm.
Minutes submitted by: Mike Nemeth