Meeting Minutes‎ > ‎

2012 04 10

posted Apr 10, 2012, 4:51 PM by ASHRAE Saskatoon Secretary   [ updated Sep 4, 2012, 11:20 AM ]
Regular Meeting Minutes for ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter 102
  1. Call to Order
    1. Jeff Frie called to order the regular meeting of the Saskatoon ASHRAE Chapter at 6:48 pm on April 10, 2012 at the Parktown Hotel.
  2. Introductions / Attendance
  3. Reading of minutes from last meeting
    1. Mike Nemeth read the March 13, 2012 meeting minutes. 
    2. Motion to accept the meeting minutes as amended. (Blake Erb / Kirk Nagus).
    3. Passed unanimously.
  4. Reports
    1. Vice-President / Programs – Chris Watt
      1. April 10 – Kevin Hudson, Saskatoon Light and Power, on the Green Energy Park
      2. June – ASHRAE Golf Tournament 
    2. Treasurer – Blake Erb
      1. Balances reported.
    3. History – Jack Scott
      1. Golf tournament is Jun 15, Willows, shotgun start around 12pm
    4. Research Promotion – Jonathan Bushman
      1. $3650 raised so far
      2. $9500 goal
    5. Membership Promotion – Ryan MacGillivray
      1. New members since July are:
        1. Ian Slinger (Axiom Industries) – Upgrade from Student Membership
        2. Chris James (SRC)
        3. Pierre-André  Ranger (Johnson Controls)
        4. Travis Frith (Victaulic)
        5. Jeff Gerhardt (HVAC Sales)
        6. Lynn Cross (Ecco Supply)
        7. Jarvis Rye (Luk Plumbing & Heating Ltd.)
        8. Dr Ahmed Ghazy (Amec Americas Ltd.)
        9. Colby Chubey (Graham Industrial Services Ltd.)
      2. Member advancements:  If you have over 12 years of experience in ASHRAE, you may be able to be upgraded from an Associate Member to a Member.  If you think you qualify, please let me know.
      3. You can now follow ASHRAE Saskatoon on Facebook.
      4. Benefits of ASHRAE membership include: Job opportunities, Leadership Development, Training, Certification, Professional development, Personal development, Prospective employees, Social gatherings, Networking, Research opportunities, Fundraising, Handbook, Journals, Access to the latest and best technical information, Travel, Conferences, On-line training.  If you didn’t know of some of these benefits or would like more info, please tale to me.
      5. Rosters are available for pick-up.  Thank you to Cypress Sales Partnership, Daniels-Wingerak Engineering Ltd., Ecco Supply, HVAC Sales (1997) Ltd., Johnson Controls LP, March Consulting Associates Inc., Polar Refrigeration Services Ltd.
      6. New members since July get a 12-month subscription to the ASHRAE Handbook online.
      7. We currently have a few delinquent members.  I will be contacting everyone soon as a reminder.
      8. CTTC info:
        1. Dedicated Outdoor Air Systems – Free webcast on April 19, 1-4pm.
          1. All past Webcasts are available as DVD.
        2. Southern Alberta Chapter (Calgary) is hosting the 7th International Cold Climate Conference, November 12-14th, 2012, featuring cold climate HVAC design topics from Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, Latvia, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Sweden and USA. 
      9. If there are any membership issues I can help you with, please let me know.
    6. Student Activites – Greg Scrivener
      1. Received thank you from SIAST for our scholarship
    7. Chapter Technology Transfer – Blake Erb
      1. No report.
    8. Refrigeration – Manfred Gerber
      1. No report.
    9. Awards - Jonathan Bushman
      1. No report.
    10. Webpage / Newsletter – Kirk Campbell
      1. No report.
  5. Old business
    1. Congratulations to new Board of Governors who take over in July
      1. Chris Watt - President
      2. Blake Erb - Vice President
      3. Mike Nemeth - Treasurer
      4. Jesse Frigstad - Secretary
  6. New business 
    1. Region 11 CRC will be in Winnipeg this year
      1. Please provide any motions you wish to have made at the meeting
      2. Chris Watt and Mike Nemeth will be attending
    2. Motion that the chapter cover reasonable expenses at the CRC (Bill Dean / Pierre-Andre Ranger)
  7. Announcements
    1. Ryan MacGillivray was made RVC Research Promotion
  8. Adjournment
    1. Motion to adjourn by Mike Nemeth / Blake Erb.  Meeting adjourned at 7:10 pm.
Minutes submitted by: Mike Nemeth