History‎ > ‎

ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter History

posted Jun 30, 2011, 11:19 AM by ASHRAE Saskatoon President

A History of the Saskatoon Chapter of ASHRAE


The 2009-2010 year was a significant year for the Saskatoon chapter of ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-conditioning Engineers).  Andrew Thomson (our VP / Programs Chair) passed away in October 2010.  The ASHRAE President visited our chapter.  Our ASHRAE Saskatoon website got up and running again with regular updates.  There was a students-only tour of the Cameco Operations Centre.  We toured an energy-efficient house, which then won ASHRAE Technology Awards at the chapter and regional levels.

Andrew Thomson

Andrew Thomson, ASHRAE Saskatoon’s Vice President and Programs Chair, passed away on October 3, 2010.  Andrew was cheerful, kind, and selfless.  We will miss him.  Andrew’s obituary is below.

THOMSON, Andrew Dean Sunday, 03 Oct 2010

Red Deer Advocate Red Deer

Andrew Dean 
We are heartbroken to announce the passing of Andrew Dean on October 3, 2010 at the age of 34 years. Andrew was born July 30, 1976. He was a loving son, faithful brother, joyful uncle, and loyal friend. Andrew loved nature, walking with a backpack, energy efficient living, and being there for his family and friends. He had a quirky sense of humour, a brilliant mind and a deep and kind heart. He is survived by his mother, June; his brother Dave (Denise) and nieces Brooke and Paige; his sisters Lynn and Sandra; and by many relatives and friends who were like family. Andrew was predeceased by his father Allan and two uncles. Funeral services will be held for Andrew on Saturday, October 16th at 11:00 at Eventide Funeral Chapel Red Deer, 4820 - 45 Street, Red Deer, Alberta, with interment to follow in the Blackfalds Cemetery. If so desired, memorial donations can be made to the Trans Canada Trail at 43 Westminster Avenue North, Montreal Quebec, H4X 1Y8, or online at: tctrail.ca.

In Andrew’s absence, Jeff Frie stepped up to fill the role of ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter VP and Programs Chair and Chris Watt took on extra Treasurer duties.  Thank you Jeff and Chris.

Presidential Visit:  On January 10, 2011, ASHRAE President Lynn Bellenger visited the Saskatoon chapter of ASHRAE and spoke on “Modeling a Sustainable World”.


Left: 2010-2011 ASHRAE President Lynne Bellenger speaking to the Saskatoon chapter of ASHRAE.

Right: ASHRAE President Lynne Bellenger met with YEA (Young Engineers in ASHRAE) members in Saskatoon.


Communications / Webpage

Thanks to the efforts of Mike Nemeth, the ASHRAE Saskatoon chapter now has a full-fledged website, updated on a roughly monthly basis.  Our electronic newsletter (POWUr, for Saskatoon’s Potash, Oil, Wheat and Uranium industries) is now available online, via www.ashraesaskatoon.ca.

Programs / Membership Promotion / Student Activities / CTTC

For our CTTC (Chapter Technology Transfer Committee) course, we had the “Fundamentals of Heating and Cooling Loads” course in December 2010. Once again, we had two Membership Promotion / Student Nights, one in November and one in February.  Mike Nemeth and Chris Conley led U of S students in a tour our Cameco’s new Operations Centre.  (This tour was for students only, so the regular chapter members did not get to go.)  In March, the Saskatoon chapter toured the VerEco Home.  The VerEco Home incorporates many energy saving features and is a showcase of sustainability innovation.  (This was literally a showcase of sustainability, as the VerEco Home was set up in the Western Development Museum parking lot, so the public could tour it and get ideas.)  The VerEco Home went on to win ASHRAE Technology Awards at the (Saskatoon) chapter and regional levels.

September 14, 2010

Parktown Hotel

U of S Prof. David Torvi

“Fire Protection Research and Education in Canada”

October 13, 2010 (Wednesday)

Parktown Hotel

Tom Watson, ASHRAE Fellow and Treasurer

ASHRAE and Its New Green Building Standard 189.1

1ST Membership Promotion Night, Student Night

November 9, 2010

Parktown Hotel

Rob Goetze (of IMAGINiT Technologies)

“Building Information Modeling BIM)”

December 14, 2010

Modern Billards

Past President’s Night

Social Function: Pool Tournament and Pizza

January 10, 2011 (Monday)

Parktown Hotel

ASHRAE President Lynn Bellenger

Modeling a Sustainable World

2nd Membership Promotion Night, Student Night

February 8, 2011

Parktown Hotel

Tim McGinn, ASHRAE Distinguished Lecturer, Cohos Evamy

“European Technologies and Their Application in North America”

March 8, 2011

Parktown Hotel / Western Development Museum

Ronn LePage, VerEco Homes

“VerEco Home: Canada’s First Net Zero Home Exhibit”

April 13, 2010

Parktown Hotel

Dan O’Brian, Halton Canada

“Kitchen Ventilation”

June 3, 2011

The Willows

Annual ASHRAE Saskatoon Golf Tournament


2010-2011 ASHRAE Saskatoon Chapter Board of Governors

President:  Jonathan Bushman

Vice-President / Programs Chair:  Andrew Thomson / Jeff Frie

Treasurer / CTTC Chair:  Chris Watt

Secretary:  Brent Wolfater

Research Promotion Chair:  Chris Conley

Membership Promotion Chair:  Ryan MacGillivray

Student Activities Chair:  Mike Nemeth

Refrigeration Chair:  Manfred Gerber

Historian:  Jack Scott

Webpage / Newsletter Editor:  Mike Nemeth

Member-At-Large:  Jeff Frie (until he was elected as VP / Programs)